Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:11 p.m. - 2022-06-19
Work work
Well this is my second week driving solo on the job and I still manage to get lost in San Francisco. The passengers are always really cool and reassuring about it, but still I feel totally stupid! I even made a wrong turn in Santa Maria today because the street I was supposed to turn right on had no sign for it, and for some reason I didn't recognize it, even though I got it right once before. I had a bus of 23 people and I'm winding through some private neighborhood in a 45 foot long bus until Google Maps rescued me again!
When I finally got to the train station to drop everyone off in Santa Barbara, my boss and his friend were there and unloaded the baggage for me. People came up to me and thanked me, it was really sweet. Not sure if they knew of my fuck up..these women were all "oh look at these nice houses" at the time lol!
So I was watching another show and again they were talking about how Covid pulled people out of the office and into their homes, esp. women and how healthy and more efficient their lives are being able to work and do things in moderation.
I feel totally cheated! I've been going fucking full throttle the entire time, picking up the load at work for people who left! I want my break too but you can't fly planes or drive busses from home. In fact other then my sister who continues to distance teach her college courses, I don't have too many friends if any who got to stay home. People never stopped needing their groceries, medical help, transportation, or things fixed. So I really wonder what part of the working population got the big break at home versus the folks who had nothing change at all.
I know much of my state government jobs are at home. There are no phone numbers for me to call the get a hold of my state contract office. They aren't even doing the contracts by mail like they always had..now they are all pdf's I need to sign and then wait another week for someone to email me back about.
Anyway, I don't know why I'm going on about this. Maybe to avoid thinking about my new job and how lost I feel. Today I was driving and looking at all the little farm town along the freeway and thinking "the people in those houses are probably just getting up, pouring their coffee and lounging around in their jamies now, all happy because they are at home.
I just wish I could have some time off where I don't have to worry about going back to work, and planning for that. I feel like I'm rushed whenever I go someplace like my folks, or friends for my two days off..there is always like this countdown to getting ready for work again. I hate that!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!