Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:09 a.m. - 2020-11-15
Super Cub
So got asked last minute to do a BFR by Maureen. I can't believe it's already been 2 years! She told me there was a 99 flyout today and she'd pay me for my time and buy lunch. I told her she didn't have to pay me and it sounds fun esp since she has such a cool plane..a new Super Cub.
Got up early today and she picked me up at my airport..I saw her flying in over the freeway. I'll have to say as far as being a pilot we are always on time! Well I'm usually late for work but I don't really have to be on time anymore, and nobody is there when I get there so doesn't count.
She had the Stratus or whatever for her ADS B..and I got to see traffic on Foreflight. I'd really like to get that for my plane, even though 90% of the time I fly I'm the only one awake in the air.
Maureen and I use to work at Air San Luis in the late 90's..I was instructing and she was mostly flying 135. She must be 6 inches shorter then me now, and I'm only 5'4"!
I didn't say anything but I noticed that her communication on the radio seemed pretty slow with a lot of "umms" which is not like her. She's been a professional pilot for a long, long time and even mentored me in the past. It got me worrying a bit because my speaking skills have also been going downhill..like a forget words often and since I'm around older clients at work and see where this is heading it really upsets me. It's like you can think so clearly but the words, you can't remember or come up with the words fast enough.
I was my usual awkward self at the restaurant with all the women who flew in. It was so good to see Elizabeth there..she has so many cool stories from flying since the 50's!
Grace was there and for some reason she reminds me of my aunt. She seemed disappointed that I was not doing any A&P work, and I felt guilty because the 99's gave me a scholarship to do that..I graduated head of my class and used the money to pay for the college course, but didn't take the exams to get certified because of having a baby, then having all those hand surgeries right after I graduated. I feel so guilty and like a failure for not taking the test.
Anyway..we flew back to Paso and my car key was missing! Must have fallen out of my stupid purse and down into the belly of her plane!
Well tomorrow I have another meetup in Davenport. Fuck I hope I don't blow it. My face around my mouth is all broken out, lips cracked dry from wearing a fucking mask all the time!
I'm just glad I added a few more days off because all I want to do is stay in my trailer, paint pictures and work in my garden.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!