Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:49 p.m. - 2020-11-08
Bitter roots
Well the park service sent me an email saying they are refunding my Big Sur camping reservations for next weekend due to fire. I thought the Dolan fire was over, but who knows..I mean not like it poured down rain here the past couple days or anything..
So I booked another tidepool exploring event with the Santa Cruz lesbian group because it was fun last year, and this year looks like there will be more women.
Today I drove all the way to Shell Beach to find out where they hell my kayak I put a deposit on 2 months back is. He told me me most likely customs, and that the company they ordered them from keeps pushing back the arrival dates. Then said they don't break up orders in the containers like they use to, and that they will only ship when the container is full. He offered me a refund and said there will be 4 others like mine arriving hopefully in December but no guarantee that they won't be sold. I told him I'll think about it as I don't think I'd be getting much use of it during holiday season. I did sign up for a sea kayak fishing class with them, and I'll talk to Kim in Santa Cruz next week and see what she thinks as she's in the kayak touring business.
I've been feeling sick to my stomach all weekend, with horrible stomach pains and a bad headache. Me and Missy (kitten) have been sleeping in together until like 11! But we stay up late watching movies. Last night it was an old one with Jodie Foster from the 70's. She's my new crush so lined up a number of her films in my queue.
I took Friday off this week, along with Monday next week, but I'm thinking I may just work Friday. I don't remember if I'm off Veterans day or not... but if my head continues hurting like this I may take more time off even though I hate calling in sick.
I was so upset tonight..I went out to buy ingredients to make this root vegetable stew with beef and smoked paprika. I don't know but I think it was the rutabega that totally spoiled it. It tasted so bitter and I could not get the bitter taste out! This has never happened to me, I mean baking cakes and puff pastry things sure I've messed up..but stew?? Who can screw up a stew?? I don't think I'll mess with rutabagas again..parsnips are mild, but no more strong bitter roots!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!