Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:10 p.m. - 2020-09-28
music memories
Woke up this morning to what sounded like Mico Nonet, so I had to play The Marmalade Balloon again while sipping my coffee. I think it will forever remind me of the build up facade I created in my dreams of Friday Harbor. Reading those books, and trying to get the feeling for it. All those cute cottages and super friendly people I met in the shops.

It's funny how songs can be assigned to certain memories. And maybe that trip did not meet all of my expectations, in fact I let myself down a few times during it but the music just glosses over everything so that even the hard times feel softer...while this sort of melancholic nostalgic feeling creeps in.

I need to plan my next trip somewhere! What will arrive first, the theme music, or the destination??

I heard back from J.. she mentioned that she enjoyed the Hearts of Space on the radio when she was young. I use to lay in bed next to my big fish tank and listen to that show in the 80's. I think it was on Sunday nights..it really inspired my love for ambient and space music. I swear we are such kindred spirits and I'm so frustrated because I just want to spend time with her and get to know her more!

Back in the 70's my family use to take me to the Planetarium in Golden Gate Park. Sometimes the shows would play space music..most likely Tangerine Dream or similar while we zoomed up to the heavens. Then there was my favorite show "Cosmos" I use to watch with my father on PBS. I was so excited about learning the stars and planets, and that soft music only fueled my passion, it was my soundtrack to that period of time.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!