Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:58 p.m. - 2020-09-21
Books
"Mandatory Monday"..as Eric at work calls it...
I ignored my chores this weekend and went fishing instead with Bev and her wife. We got skunked catching no fish, but it sure was nice boating on the lake.
I've been in a better mood lately, maybe because the sky turned blue again.
I started writing Andy a letter and I'm going to send him the book I just finished "The traveling cat chronicles". I think he'll love it, esp. since he loves Japanese culture and cats. I laughed and cried my way through it..just thinking about the story makes me want to cry!
I just started reading "The Alchemist" today. Since the two girls on my trip who ran off together both said it was their favorite book, and it had been in my want to read list I decided to bump it up to the top of my queue. So far I'm really enjoying it. It's a book you read that triggers constant introspection, so I have to pause from time to time to reflect on my own life. One of those kinds of books so far.

The last chapter I read the main character gets taken advantage of by a thief while traveling abroad in a country where he does not speak the common tongue. "he realized that he had to choose between thinking of himself as the poor victim of a thief and as an adventurer in quest of his treasure.. was one line.. "I'm and adventurer, looking for treasure", he said to himself.
For some reason that made me think of the time I was in Ecuador. I was standing in this plaza listening to the police brass band play, and it reminded me of a Coil album where in between songs they played the same sounding bit of music with natives speaking Spanish in the background. That album always inspired me to travel, and when I heard the band play in real life it was just as I had imagined it! Right after that these little kids pulled a gypsy trick on me and managed to steal my cell phone. I kept asking "why, why did this have to happen to me when things felt like they all were lining up??" And in a way it was a sort of test since it was at the beginning of my trip. Am I a victim, or an explorer?? I choose to be an adventurer, but now a more carefuller one!

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!